The Monastery was founded by the Reverend Aleksandr Svirsky in the 16th century in the forests of Olonetsky district, on the territory which was inhabited by the pagan tribes of Karelians and Veps.
In 1508 the Reverend Aleksandr had a vision of the Holy Trinity and he was commanded to build a church and a monastery. Soon the Monastery became very famous and a lot of monks and ordinary people started to come there.
Alexander Svirsky Monastery consists of two parts: Troitsky (Holy Trinity) and Preobrazhensky (Transfiguration). The Monastery is located on the shore of a lake in beautiful surroundings. A lot of buildings survived to our days and we can observe the art of the medieval architects. The main church of the Monastery is the Church of Protection of the Virgin which was built by the Reverend himself in 1533. During the reconstruction of the Monastery in 1641 the Church recieved the relics of the Reverend and many Russian Tzars came to the Monastery to kneel down to the relics.
The monastery was closed after the revolution and in the 1960s it was transformed into the mental institution. Today the monastery is functioning and open for the visitors.
The main tourist attraction of Vyborg is Vyborg Castle, situated on a small island in the gulf of Finland.
Staraya Ladoga is a small village in Leningrad region with a long and great history. The main attraction of the village is the old fortress, which stands on the bank of the Volkhov River.
The most famous historical attraction of the city is Tikhvin Men's Monastery of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin.
Alexander Svirsky Monastery of the Holy Trinity is situated at the distance of 21 kilometers of the town of Lodeinoe Pole, near the border between Leningrad region and the Republic of Karelia.
Verkhnie Mandrogi is a reconstructed traditional Russian village. It is located on the shore of the Svir River, which connects the greatest European Lakes Ladoga and Onego.