The town of Tikhvin is situated in Leningrad region about 200 kilometers to the east from Saint-Petersburg. It stands on the territory of the Volkhov lowland on the Tikhvinka river. Tikhvin was first mentioned in the chronicles in 1383.
Tikhvin Men's Monastery of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin
The foundation of the Monastery is closely connected with the appearance of the icon of Our Lady Odigitria (Guidance) to the local orthodox people. The legend says that this icon was painted by St. Luke and dates back to the times of the Blessed Virgin's life. Later this icon was named Tikhvinskaya. In order to commemorate the fact of the icon appearance a wooden church of the Assumption was built there. Along with the foundation of the church the first settlement appeared near the church. In 1560 at the command of Ivan IV a men's monastery was founded in the Prechistensky Pogost. It was named Tikhvin Men's Monastery of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin.
During its histrory the monastery was closely connected with the history of Russia. When the WWII started the town of Tikhvin was bombed the German airforce and a lot of buildings were damaged and at present the reconstruction of the Monastery has almost been completed. During the war the icon of Our Lady Odigitria disappeared. Later, it was found evacuated to Chicago where stayed for a long time. In 1995 the Monastery was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. On July, 8, 2004 the Wonder-Working Icon of Our Lady of Tikhvin was returned to the Monastery.
A museum of the famous Russian composer Rimskiy-Korsakov is located in tikhvin, not far from the Monastery.