Aleksandro-Svirsky Monastery of the Holy Trinity is situated at the
distance of 21 kilometers of the town of Lodeinoe Pole, near the
border between Leningrad region and the Republic of Karelia.
The Monastery was founded by the Reverend Aleksandr Svirsky in the 16th
century in the forests of Olonetsky district, on the territory which was
inhabited by the pagan tribes of Karelians and Veps. In 1508
The Reverend Aleksandr had a vision of the Holy Trinity and he was
commanded to build a church and a monastery. Soon the Monastery became
very famous and a lot of monks and ordinary people started to come to
The monastery consisted of two parts: Troitsky (Holy Trinity) and
The Monastery is located on the shore of the Roshchinskoye lake in
beautiful surroundings. A lot of buildings survived to our days and we
can observe the art of the medieval architects.
The main church of the Monastery is the Church of Protection of the
Virgin which was built by the Reverend himself in 1533.
During the reconstruction of the Monastery in 1641 the Church recieved the
relics of the Reverend and many Russian Tzars came to the Monastery to
kneel down to the relics.
The monastery was closed after the revolution and in the
1960s it was transformed into the mental institution.
Today the monastery is functioning and open for the visitors.
By car/bus: the Monastery is situated in several kilometers from the
road connecting St.Petersburg, Petrozavodsk and Murmansk.